Skip to main content

Louis & Janet Peery Presidential Endowed Chair


Helping those who help others. That’s what Dr. Louis S. Peery and his wife, Janet B. Peery had in mind when they selected nursing as the focus of their generosity in establishing a presidential endowed chair in 1990. The gift permanently enriched nursing education and the nursing professional for generations to come.

Dr. Peery, a native of Ogden, was educated at Weber State University and the University of Utah, where he received his undergraduate degree in 1935. He pursued his medical degree at both the U and Rush Medical College at the University of Chicago. After graduate training in New Orleans, Dr. Peery served in the U.S. Army during World War II. He then returned to private practice in Ogden, where he became chief of staff of McKay-Dee Hospital Center and St. Benedict’s Hospital and served at various times as president of the Ogden Surgical Society, the Weber County Medical Society, and the Utah chapter of the Western Orthopaedic Association.

Dr. Peery was known as a true gentleman who was always thoughtful of others and supportive of his staff. “He respected us as professionals,” a former staffer once noted. “It was an uplifting experience to work with him.” He and his wife, Janet B. Peery, established five presidential endowed chairs: three in orthopaedic surgery, Dr. Peery’s own specialty, and two in the College of Nursing, as well as a visiting lectureship in honor of Dr. Thomas H. Caine, a U faculty member and Dr. Peery’s personal physician for many years. Dr. Peery, a compassionate and skilled physician, died in July 1996 at the age of 82. Janet died in 1999.

Chair Holders

Kathi Mooney, PhD, RN (Current Chair Holder)  
Lillian Nail, PhD, FAAN (Inaugural Chair Holder)

Help Progress, Give Today

You can help the College of Nursing continue to progress with even a small contribution.

Questions about giving? Contact:

Miriam Lovin
Associate Director of Advancement
Phone: (801) 581-4804