Skip to main content

Endowed Chairs

10 Endowed Chairs

Endowed chairs are the University of Utah and College of Nursing's primary means of recognizing academic distinction, promoting excellence, and enabling the university to attract, retain, and honor distinguished faculty members. For the chair holders, appointment to an endowed chair signals recognition of both personal achievements and of the institution’s commitment to their fields of inquiry and teaching.

Endowed chairs are supported by gifts at two levels:

  • Endowed Chair: $1 million level
  • Presidential Endowed Chair: $1.5 million level

Louis S. Peery, M.D. and Janet B. Peery Presidential Endowed Chair (Est. 1990)

Chair Holders


Helen Lowe Bamberger Colby Presidential Endowed Chair in Nursing (Est. 1998)

Chair Holders


Ida May "Dotty" Barnes, R.N. and D. Keith Barnes, M.D. Presidential Endowed Chair (Est. 1999)

Chair Holders


Louis H. Peery Presidential Endowed Chair in Nursing in Loving Memory by His Son, Louis S. Peery, M.D. (Est. 1999)

Chair Holders

  • Marla De Jong, PhD, RN, CCNS, FAAN (Current Chair Holder, 2020) 
  • Patricia Morton, PhD, RN, ACNP-BC, FAAN (Second Chair Holder, 2013-2018) 
  • Maureen Keefe, RN, PhD, FAAN (Inaugural Chair Holder, 2002-2012)


Annette Poulson Cumming Presidential Endowed Chair in Women's and Reproductive Health (Est. 2000)

Chair Holders


The Robert L. and Joyce T. Rice Presidential Endowed Chair in Healthy Aging (Est. in 2003)

Chair Holders

  • Search in Progress (Current Chair Holder)

  • Michael Caserta, PhD (Inaugural & Current Chair Holder, 2010-2021)


Robert S. and Beth M. Carter Endowed Chair (Est. in 2006 by Robyn and Thomas Carter)

Chair Holders

  • Lee Ellington, PhD (Current Chair Holder, 2017) 
  • Susan Beck, RN, PhD, FAAN (Inaugural Chair Holder, 2008-2017)


The Frederick Q. Lawson Excellence in Teaching Endowed Chair (Est. in 2016) 

Chair Holders  

Janet Q. Lawson Endowed Chair in Nursing         (Est. in 2016)          

Chair Holders  

  • Search begins in 2022 (Current Chair Holder)

The Claire Dumke Ryberg, R.N. Presidential Endowed Chair in End-of Life/Palliative Care (Est. in 2017)

Chair Holders

Help Progress, Give Today

You can help the College of Nursing continue to progress with even a small contribution.

Questions about giving? Contact:

Miriam Lovin
Associate Director of Advancement
Phone: (801) 581-4804