Distance delivery for full-time study are open to students in the following specialty tracks:
- Family Nurse Practitioner
- Adult/Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
- Psychiatric/Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
- Women's Health Nurse Practitioner
- Certified Nurse Midwife
- Nursing Education
- MS in Gerontology
- DNP Neonatal Nurse Practitioner
Courses offered to distance students are completed through synchronous and asynchronous distance delivery, on-campus visits and clinical experiences in a student’s home community.
The distance option is available to students living in the Intermountain West. Participation may not be possible in all areas. Utah residents living more than 60 miles from the University of Utah are able to participate in the distance option.
CON Distance Fee
Full-time distance students who access courses synchronously must pay a CON distance fee of $400 each fall semester for three years. This fee is separate from the $60/course UOnline fee specific to online courses.
On Campus Visits
Distance students are required to come to the University of Utah campus throughout their programs, at their own expense, to participate in orientation, intensive educational experiences, exams, and defend their synthesis or scholarly project. Throughout the program, distance students will be expected to travel approximately twice a semester.
Once a student has been admitted to a specialty track it is required that they contact their program manager in Student Services or call (801) 587-3194.
Notice to Students Engaging in Out of State Clinical Placements
The U’s Health Care Professional Liability (Malpractice) insurance through the Utah State Division of Risk Management provides coverage for U students engaged in providing services to members of the public in the course of an approved medical, nursing, or other professional health care clinical training program. However, this insurance policy restricts coverage for activities outside the State of Utah. This restriction is significant because of the potential loss of the University’s defenses, limitations and protections under the Governmental Immunity Act of Utah. Therefore, to avoid being underinsured and to comply with insurance requirements imposed by training facilities, students must purchase commercial Malpractice insurance with minimum limits of $1,000,000 per occurrence and $3,000,000 annual aggregate for those students who are placed in clinical settings outside of Utah. This insurance with these industry standard liability limits must also cover U supervising faculty (if applicable) and the U of U as an institution. Please contact Health Clarkson: firstname.lastname@example.org for more information.