Skip to main content

Distinguished Service Award

Distinguished Service Award

The College of Nursing Dean’s Advancement Board at the University of Utah sponsors the Distinguished Service Award. This award recognizes both alumni and non-alumni who have dedicated personal time, talents, and energy to strengthen and improve the community in which they live. 

Distinguished Service Award Winner 2023

Congratulations to Dr. Heidi Vawdrey for receiving the 2023 Distinguished Service Award!

Learn more about Dr. Vawdrey HERE

Dr. Heidi Vawdrey

Nominee Qualifications

Nominees need not be an alumnus/alumna of the College of Nursing, but they should have a demonstrated interest in supporting the college. Nominees may not be current members of the College of Nursing Dean’s Advancement Board. Nominees possess such stature and integrity that the College of Nursing faculty, staff, students, and alumni are proud of and inspired by their recognition. Neither nominators nor nominees are required to financially support the University of Utah, the College of Nursing, or the College of Nursing Alumni Association.

Nominee Criteria

Use the following criteria as a guide for describing a nominee’s qualifications for the award. The contributions may include, but are not limited to, exceptional achievement in the following area:

  • Service (local, state, national, or international): Nominee embodies the legacy of service and has dedicated personal time, talents, and energy to improve the community in which they live.

Submit a Nomination

The nomination packet should include:

  • Nomination Form
  • CV / Resume 
  • Two Letters of Support

Click the button below to complete the online nomination form. Please email CV/Resume and two letters of support to

Past Distinguished Service Award Recipients

The Dean’s Advancement Board will present the Distinguished Service Award during a University of Utah College of Nursing event associated with Alumni Week in the fall. Recipients are strongly encouraged to attend the event.

2023: Heidi Vawdrey

2022: Terese Cracroft