Skip to main content

American Academy of Nursing Inducts Eight College of Nursing Faculty and Alumni as Fellows


On October 9, 2021, the American Academy of Nursing (Academy) inducted eight University of Utah College of Nursing (CON) faculty and alumni as 2021 Academy Fellows at its Health Policy Conference. The eight faculty and alumni are among 225 new Fellows who are recognized for their significant accomplishments in nursing and health care.

The more than 2,900 total Fellows are distinguished nurse leaders in education, management, practice, and research. Fellows represent association executives; university presidents, chancellors and deans; elected officials; state and federal political appointees; hospital chief executives and vice presidents for nursing; nurse consultants; and researchers and entrepreneurs. They are leaders and experts in policy, research, administration, practice, and academia who champion health and wellness, locally and globally.

"Induction into the Academy is one of the most prestigious honors in nursing. I am so proud that our distinguished faculty and alumni have been duly recognized for their expertise, sustained contributions to the profession of nursing, and commitment to continue work to transform America’s health system," says Dean of the CON Marla De Jong, PhD, RN, CCNS, FAAN. "Having five faculty members and three alumni inducted into the Academy demonstrates the caliber of the College of Nursing, and is testimony to its excellence, and striking contributions to and impact on the profession and health care."

Through a competitive, rigorous application process, the Academy’s Fellow Selection Committee reviewed hundreds of applications to select the 2021 fellows based on their contributions to advance the public’s health. Induction into the Academy is a significant milestone in a nurse leader’s career, in which their accomplishments are honored by their colleagues within and outside the profession.

“I am thrilled to welcome another exceptional class of Fellows to the American Academy of Nursing during a momentous time of change and progress in our collective efforts to fulfill the organization’s vision of healthy lives for all people,” said Academy President Eileen Sullivan-Marx, PhD, RN, FAAN. “The Academy aims to improve health and achieve health equity through nursing leadership, innovation, and science. The Academy’s Fellows embody our values of equity, diversity and inclusivity, inquiry, integrity, and courage, which enable us to achieve new heights of impact that advance health policy across the globe. Congratulations to this dynamic cohort of leaders who bring diverse experience and expertise to the Fellowship.”

The CON recognizes the following individuals for their induction as 2021 Fellows in the American Academy of Nursing:

Linda Edelman, PhD, MPhil, RN

Associate Professor, University of Utah College of Nursing

Learn More About Linda

Perry Gee, PhD, RN, CPEHR

Adjunct Assistant Professor, University of Utah College of Nursing

Learn More About Perry

Emma Kurnat-Thoma, PhD, RN

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Georgetown University School of Nursing and Health Studies

Learn More About Emma

Virginia LeBaron, PhD, APRN, FAANP

Associate Professor, University of Virginia School of Nursing

Learn More About Virginia

Lauri Linder, PhD, APRN, CPON

Associate Professor, University of Utah College of Nursing

Learn More About Lauri

Michelle Litchman, PhD, FNP-BC, FAANP, FADCES

Assistant Professor, University of Utah College of Nursing

Learn More About Michelle


Adjunct Instructor, University of Utah College of Nursing

Learn More About Lee

Susan VanBeuge, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC, FAANP

Associate Professor in Residence, University of Nevada Las Vegas School of Nursing

Learn More About Susan