Skip to main content

Past Recipients

2018 - Alex Wubbels, RN, after a traumatic encounter with a police officer worked to advocate for system policy changes and workplace safety measures that will protect nurses on the job

2017 - Jeanlee Carver, Pediatric Nurse Practitioner, Dedicated her career to helping abused children with CJC programs

2016 - Ann Hutton, PhD, APRN, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse, co-founder Utah Chapter of the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention

2015 - Ronda Miller-Ernest, DNP, APRN, PNP-BC, Family Nurse Practitioner, founder Education for Generations

2014 - Dianne Fuller, founding director, Salt Lake Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners (SL SANE)

2013 - Chris Chytraus for founding The Sharing Place, a grief support program for children, teens, and their families.

2012 - Jan Jones Schenk for developing and implementing Utah's first hospital-based clinical privileging system for advanced practice registered nurses.

2011 – Judy Zone for establishing Youthlinc, a service organization dedicated to creating lifetime humanitarians by connecting young people with service learning experiences in their local community and abroad.

2010 - Lisa Bagley for helping to found medical rehabilitation non-profit Healing Hands for Haiti.

2009 - Khosrow Semnani for establishing the Maliheh Free Clinic, which delivers free health care to uninsured Utahns.

2008 - The Ronald McDonald House Charities for providing low cost housing to parents of very sick children.

2007 - Pamela Atkinson for her work as an advocate for the homeless.

2006 - Sue Huether for her commitment to all nurses and the nursing profession for over 40 years.

2005 - Joyce Harris for her many contributions to the profession of nursing and the community.

2004 - The YWCA for providing programs in women’s health and safety.

2003 - Junior League of Salt Lake City for contributing to community health programs.

2002 - Senator Karen Hale for her support of health care in Utah.

2019 Dare to Care Award Call for Nominations

Deadline: February 1, 2019

2018 Dare to Care Award Winner

University of Utah Health Burn Unit Nurse Alex Wubbels received the Dare to Care Award at the 2018 Honors for Nursing event May 11, 2018.

Register for Alumni Weekend 2019

Join us Oct. 24-26!


Call Us (801) 581-5109