Skip to main content

Cipriano Receives 2014 Distinguished Alumni Award


On Wednesday, September 24, current American Nurses Association (ANA) president Dr. Pamela Cipriano, received the 2014 Distinguished Alumni Award in honor of her professional achievements and dedication to the nursing profession. Prior to becoming ANA president, Dr. Cipriano served as senior director at Galloway Advisory by iVantage in addition to being a research associate professor at the University of Virginia School of Nursing.  She also served as the inaugural editor-in-chief of American Nurse Today, the official journal of the American Nurses Association.  From 2010 to 2011 Dr. Cipriano served as a Distinguished Nurse Scholar in Residence at the Institute of Medicine.

Congratulations, Dr. Cipriano!  

View the Bullough Endowed Lecture given by Dr. Cipriano -  The Future of Nursing: Advancing Nursing and the Nation's Health (Note: the audio quality the first 9 minutes of her presentation is poor, but improves after that point) 

View event photos here.

The Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes College of Nursing graduates who have attained the highest level of professional accomplishments, and/or has advanced the profession through practice, research, education, or administration. The nominee possesses such integrity and stature that the faculty, staff, students, and alumni of the College of Nursing can take pride in, and are inspired by his/her recognition. 

Read more about the award and view past award recipients